Gluten-Free Christmas 2016

This post is long overdue (and not all about a gluten-free meal) but I’m forcing myself to take a break from packing for our move.  This Christmas was weird and awesome.  I say this because it was the first and only Christmas we had in our own house.  We had a hunch this summer that the hangar would move where it is going and that we’d have to leave our sweet starter home so we regretfully told our families that we couldn’t make it to North Carolina and Pittsburgh this year but they were welcome to join us for Christmas in the sand.  We thought for sure they wouldn’t be able to make it but oh boy, did they show up!  My parents drove down from Carolina with Kona and spent the week of Christmas with us and our friends’ dog, Lexi.  Dave’s sister came down from Pittsburgh, too.  She has Celiac’s Disease so the gluten-free lifestyle is a must for her.  This was an extra challenge but one I appreciate.  It forced me to search Pinterest for healthier meals that didn’t involve gluten or at least forced me to figure out a way to modify the original recipes.  All of the recipes below are gluten-free or can easily be modified with the substitution of corn starch.

We surely tested the limits of our house with five adults and three dogs.  It was loud, it was busy, it tasted delicious, and  it was awesome.  I wouldn’t mind repeating it but maybe with a little more space for each of us next time!

img_6944
Christmas Eve service at church.
img_2346
Easily my favorite picture of my dad after he won a Chick-fil-a gift card during the oven mitt game
img_5299-2
Mom won, too! Chick-fil-a all around!
img_0711
The calm before the storm of gift wrap and tissue paper
img_6951
New “Holly Jolly” placemats. I wasn’t sure how the black would turn out but I think they’re pretty unique.
img_8961
Oh hey Lexi! And no, this picture isn’t turned incorrectly haha.
img_6955
Kona bean!
img_7653
Mmmm Christmas Sangria

Recipe from The Blissful Balance

img_8117
The gluten-free feast (except for the rolls)! This was much easier to prepare than my Thanksgiving menu. I may have to revamp that to make my life easier!
img_3872
Christmas ham, good job, Dave!

Recipe from Flavorite.net

img_0693
Bacon cranberry almond green beans

Recipe from Mom Endeavors

img_6514
Cheesy scalloped potatoes

Recipe from Yellow Bliss Road

img_5838
Vanilla Bourbon Cranberry Sauce…omg

Recipe from Far From Normal

img_6701
I loved the gold and silver tree this year.
img_6720
It took me three years but I finally assembled these garlands to put over our front windows.  I really hope they fit in well at our new place because they really tied the decorations together this year!

Dave’s parents came down for New Year’s week.  We went to a Lightning game on NYE and oh yea, I have photographic evidence of them rocking some Bolts gear.  I consider this my greatest accomplishment of 2016 since they’re from Pittsburgh.  What Penguins?  Now if only the Lightning could get their act together and make it to the playoffs…I digress.  We had a blast introducing them to some new restaurants, seeing the sights, and they helped us work on our landscaping.

img_8838img_0201fullsizeoutput_39fimg_7025

Merry Christmas and Happy 2017!

 

Leave a Reply

